Week of February 15th, 2016: Writing my first Screencast

This week, I made my first screencast. You can check it out here
. In my screencast, I showed how to use the Find & Replace feature in Google Docs. This is a very helpful tool in Google Docs. If you misspell a word multiple times, you can find the word each time it appears and replace it with the correct spelling in one click.  While making this screencast, I learned a lot of helpful skills that will help me with future screencasts. I also ran into a couple of problems. However, these problems were learning experiences and they will help me in the future.

One problem that I ran into while making this screencast was the preparation. In order to prepare for this screencast I wrote a script. While I was recording, I realized that some of my wording was awkward, and it didn’t sound correct. I had to record and rearrange my script multiple times. I found that I was relying on the script too much. I was almost reading directly from the script, which made my wording awkward, and it soundedScreencast Cover Slide.jpg like I was reading. From now on, I will make sure to not rely on a script as much. I will write a basic script so I have an outline to follow, but I will improvise it much more so it sounds more natural.

Despite there being a few mistakes, I think it was a positive experience. I learned a valuable lesson from my mistakes, and that will help me with my future screencasts. Other than the mistakes I made, I think I did a good job on my first screencast, and I am proud of my work. I imagined making a screencast would be challenging, but it came somewhat naturally. Before I started recording I was nervous that it wouldn’t be good. Once I started recording, it flowed and I did fine. I feel good about how my screencast went, and I am excited to make many more.

Making a screencast title slide was also a very good learning experience. I used Google Drawings to make it. It exercised my creativity, and I ended up with a cool title slide I can use for my future screencasts. Also, the title slide has my Twitter and blog, so anyone who sees it can easily find my Twitter or blog. Overall, I am proud of my work, and am looking forward towards the rest of my experience at the Help Desk.

Leave a Reply

